top of page

Katalin Horvath

Quilter, Textile artist
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon

"...Referring to the concept of basic elements such as Earth, Water, Air, Fire, and Ether, to explain the nature and complexity of all matter, roots in ancient cultures of India, Persia, Tibet, Greece, Babylonia. Chinese culture lists Wood, Fire, Earth, Metal and Water and describes them more like energies, and transitions than material. Ancient Greeks, Buddhism and Hinduism associate the primary elements with different qualities and our five senses. Western astrology uses them in connection with astrological charts and horoscopes. The twelve signs of the zodiac are divided into the four elements: Fire signs are Aries, Leo and Sagittarius, Earth signs are Taurus, Virgo and Capricorn, Air signs are Gemini, Libra and Aquarius, and Water signs are Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces..."


This pattern is instructed using the "Draw-Sew-Trim" technique, that makes the applique process easier, faster and more accurate.

(The beautiful, magazine-style, detailed, step-by-step tutorial eBook is available in my webshop: Draw-Sew-Trim eBook with the Draw-Sew-Trim technique



Five Elements Mandala / DST-pattern with interfacing

Five Elements Mandala / interfacing with design

Five Elements Mandala / DST-Kit

Five Elements Mandala / Mandala (Finished product)

is available separately too on the webshop. 


You can find useful YouTube video-tutorials in my playlist.



Basic applique and a little free motion quilting.



Pattern size: 60 cm x 60 cm (24” x 24”)
Finished piece: 60 cm x 60 cm (24” x 24”)




Five Elements Mandala / DST-pattern

  • This is a "magazine-style" pattern, created in .pdf format.

    This file format can be handled by all main types of devices (MS, OS, Android based IT devices).

Related Products